Ashes 2023

Comparison between 2005 and 2023 Ashes

The 2005 and 2023 Ashes series are widely regarded as two of the greatest Ashes series of all time. Both series were closely contested

Here is a comparison of the two series: 2005 and 2023 Ashes.

2005 Ashes2023 Ashes
England won 2-1Series drawn 2-2
Australia won the first Test by 239 runsAustralia won the first two Tests (2 wickets & 43 runs)
England won the second Test by 2 runsEngland won the third Test by 3 wickets
England won the fourth Test 3 wicketsFourth Test Drawn
Third & Fifth Test are drawnEngland won Fifth Test by 49 runs
England’s Andrew Flintoff was the player of the series along with Shane WarneAustralia’s Mitchell Starc was the player of the series Along with Chris Woakes
Steve Harmison 17 and Andrew Flintoff took 24 wicketsChris Woakes 19 and Mitchell Starc took 23 wickets
Shane Warne took 40 wicketsStuart Broad took 22 wickets
2005 and 2023 Ashes

Both series (2005 and 2023 Ashes) were characterized by close and exciting matches, with some memorable performances from individual players. The 2023 series was particularly notable for the return of the short-ball tactic, which was used by both teams to great effect.

It is difficult to say which series (Ashes 2005 and 2023) was better, as they were both so close and competitive. However, both 2005 and 2023 Ashes series will be remembered as classics of the Ashes rivalry.

Here are some additional thoughts on the two series 2005 and 2023 Ashes:

2005 Key Points

  • The 2005 series was a Ricky Ponting vs Michael Vaughan, with England being the underdogs. England had not won the Ashes in Australia since 1987, and they were facing a team that was considered to be one of the greatest in history.
  • The 2005 Ashes series has gone down as one of the greatest in history, with England winning back the urn for the first time since 1987.
  • The way Australia beat England by 239 runs in the first test at Lord’s in 2005, Australia was completely dominated over England .But after that England made a memorable comeback to win the series 2-1.
  • In 2005 The last-wicket stand between Lee and Kasprowicz in Edgbaston Test almost took Australia to an unlikely victory, but eventually, England’s Steve Harmison claimed the last wicket of Kasprowicz, securing the win for England. The tension and drama of that final partnership have made it one of the most memorable moments in Ashes history.
  • The 2005 series was more memorable for its individual performances. Andrew Flintoff was the player of the series, and he took some memorable wickets, Shane Warne was also outstanding, and he took 40 wickets in the series.
  • Kevin Pietersen scored his maiden Test century in the Ashes 2005. If Shane Warne not dropped his catch on 15, the Kennington Test might have been the result.

2023 Key Points

  • The 2023 series was a more evenly matched contest, with both teams having a good chance of winning. Australia were the defending champions, but England had a strong team that was led by Ben Stocks.
  • The 2023 series was more memorable for its close finishes. Ben Stokes’s innings at Headingly was one of the most memorable moments in Ashes history.
  • The 2023 Ashes series was a series of Test cricket matches played between England and Australia for the Ashes in June and July 2023. The five-match series was a part of the 2023–2025 ICC World Test Championship, the venues being Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingly, Old Trafford and The Oval.
  • Australia won the first two Tests of the series, at Edgbaston and Lord’s, to take a 2-0 lead. England won the third Test at Headingley, but the fourth test was drawn due to rain at Old Trafford, Manchester. England won The fifth and final Test at The Oval after Australia’s great fight in the 4th Inning, resulting in a 2-2 series draw.
  • The 2023 Ashes series was notable for the return of the short-ball tactic, which had not been seen in Test cricket for many years. This tactic was used by both teams, and led to some heated exchanges between the players.
  • The series was also notable for the performances of the two captains, Ben Stokes of England and Pat Cummins of Australia. Stokes led England to a thrilling victory at Headingly & Pat Cummins set a great example as a captain led from the front and chase down the target 282.8 at Edgbaston test, He scored 44 runs & Australia won by 2 Wickets.
  • The 2023 Ashes series was a close and competitive contest, and it was ultimately decided by a few key moments. It was a fitting way to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the Ashes.
  • The Ashes 2023 was a great advertisement for Test cricket, and it showed that the Ashes is still the biggest rivalry in the game. The next Ashes series will be played in Australia in 2025-26.
2005 and 2023 Ashes


Both the Ashes were interesting, it would be difficult to say which one is the best.
But the 2005 and 2023 Ashes were played in England. England were in home conditions in both Ashes. In 2005 England won the ashes but Australia gave a tough fight.
In 2023, Australia won the first two Tests and Aussies fought well in the rest of the matches. Even though Australia lost in the last Test, but the intention was very clear in the fourth inning they want 3-1, but England Fight back and levelled the series 2–2.
Both the teams were equal but Australia was slightly ahead, they levelled the series and retain the Ashes in England conditions.

Ultimately, it is up to each individual to decide which series they think was better. However, there is no doubt that both series were classics of the Ashes rivalry.

One thought on “Comparison between 2005 and 2023 Ashes

  • Abdullah

    Great Comparison..


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *