English Article

ICC World T20 2007

India vs. Pakistan, Final, ICC World T20, 2007

ICC World T20

The Final of the ICC World T20 2007 was a highly anticipated clash between arch-rivals India and Pakistan. Both teams had shown exceptional form throughout the tournament, making it a fitting showdown for the coveted trophy. The match took place at The Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa, amidst an electric atmosphere.

India Innings: Gautam Gambhir played a very crucial knock in ICC World T20 Final.

India won the toss and elected to bat first. The Indian team started off strongly, with the opening partnership between Gautam Gambhir and Yusuf Pathan setting the foundation for a competitive total. Gambhir played a brilliant knock of 75 runs off 54 balls, including 8 boundaries and 2 sixes, exhibiting his impeccable timing and shot selection. Yusuf Pathan played a short but impactful cameo, contributing 15 runs off 8 balls, with one boundary and one six.

However, Pakistan’s bowlers made a strong comeback in the middle overs, picking up crucial wickets. Robin Uthappa (8 runs) and Yuvraj Singh (14 runs) were dismissed, but the Indian skipper MS Dhoni fought hard, scoring 6 runs off 10 balls. The late flourish was provided by Rohit Sharma, who remained unbeaten with 30 runs off just 16 balls, smashing 2 fours and a six. Irfan Pathan also contributed with a quickfire 3 runs off 3 balls at the end.

India set a challenging total of 157 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Fall of Wickets:

  • 25-1 (Yusuf Pathan, 2.4)
  • 40-2 (Uthappa, 5.4)
  • 103-3 (Yuvraj, 13.3)
  • 111-4 (Dhoni, 15.2)
  • 130-5 (Gambhir, 17.6)

Bowling Highlights:

  • Umar Gul was the pick of the Pakistani bowlers, claiming 3 wickets for 28 runs in his 4 overs.
  • Mohammad Asif and Sohail Tanvir took 1 wicket each, conceding 25 and 29 runs, respectively.
ICC World T20

Pakistan Innings: Misbah-ul-Haq fought valiantly in Icc world T20 Final.

Chasing 158 for victory, Pakistan had a shaky start as they lost Mohammad Hafeez and Kamran Akmal early in the innings. Imran Nazir tried to counterattack, playing a blistering knock of 33 runs off just 14 balls, including 4 boundaries and 2 sixes. However, wickets continued to tumble at regular intervals, and the Pakistani batsmen struggled to build substantial partnerships.

Misbah-ul-Haq fought valiantly, scoring 43 runs off 38 balls, and showed glimpses of hope for Pakistan. However, the Indian bowlers, led by Irfan Pathan’s brilliant spell, proved to be too much to handle for the Pakistani batsmen. Pathan was the standout bowler for India, claiming a crucial 3 wickets for 16 runs in his 4 overs, earning him the Player of the Match award.

In the end, Pakistan was bowled out for 152 runs in 19.3 overs, falling short by just 5 runs.

Fall of Wickets:

  • 2-1 (Hafeez, 0.5)
  • 26-2 (Kamran Akmal, 2.3)
  • 53-3 (Imran Nazir, 5.4)
  • 65-4 (Younis Khan, 8.3)
  • 76-5 (Shoaib Malik, 11.3)
  • 77-6 (Shahid Afridi, 11.4)
  • 104-7 (Yasir Arafat, 15.6)
  • 138-8 (Sohail Tanvir, 17.6)
  • 141-9 (Umar Gul, 18.5)
  • 152-10 (Misbah-ul-Haq, 19.3)

Bowling Highlights:

  • RP Singh was the most successful bowler for India, picking up 3 wickets for 26 runs in his 4 overs.
  • S Sreesanth and Joginder Sharma contributed with 1 wicket each.
ICC World T20

India won the match by 5 runs and clinched the inaugural ICC World T20 trophy in 2007.

Player of the Match:
Irfan Pathan was awarded the Player of the Match for his all-round performance, scoring crucial runs and taking three vital wickets.

Player of the Series:
Shahid Afridi was named the Player of the Series for his consistent performances throughout the tournament.

The match was a classic example of the intense rivalry between India and Pakistan, providing fans with a thrilling spectacle and unforgettable cricketing moments. The ICC World T20 2007 Final will be etched in cricket history as one of the most memorable contests between the two cricketing giants.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *